Traffic time sink

22 04 2012

What is the point of living in the suburbs or anywhere outside of a major city when you frequently have to return to that city on a regular basis? This really comes back to a big problem we are going to have to deal with as Americans. We are going to have to address the rise of the suburbs in the 1950s and 1960s and how they have affected our quality of life.

Riding near the canalI have lived in the northern suburbs of Indianapolis, Indiana my entire life. It’s a nice place to live but there is not much to do here and my university and, possibly, my next job are in downtown Indy, half an hour away.

Often, the opportunity presents itself to bike or walk while running errands. I have sometimes found myself zipping by stationary traffic on my bike, with an admittedly smug grin on my face.

Unfortunately, I cannot eliminate driving as a necessity in my life and I do everything I can to avoid traffic jams. I always try to avoid driving during rush hour and I tend to stay off the main streets during the day. It does not just save me gas and time, it saves my sanity.

I guess this may not be particularly Earth-shattering advice, but avoiding traffic jams will make your life a little better. Rather than wasting time just sitting in your car, you can go accomplish something you actually want to do. Trying to get a little smarter about how and when I drive has definitely made my life easier.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

