Getting started with .bash_profile

22 04 2011

If you are new to the UNIX-like command line interface (CLI) and you think you are going to spend more and more time there, creating a .bash_profile file is something to consider. You may have already used the Terminal for quite some time and never used your .bash_profile.

The .bash_profile is a hidden plain text file that resides inside your home directory (~/). Keep in mind that your home directory (~/) and your root directory (/) are not the same thing. Stay inside your home directory and its subdirectories while we work on the .bash_profile. This file is like a settings file. It keeps instructions that are used when setting up your environment whenever a new shell (Terminal window or tab) is opened. These instructions can specify settings and aliases. I get the most use out of aliases.

I am a web developer, so I spend a great deal of my time in the command line. I actually came to prefer it over the GUI for work-related stuff. By creating aliases, or shortcuts, for my Terminal, I save myself a bit of time and effort when I try to accomplish common tasks.

A good example is getting to where my work projects are stored. I build WordPress sites, primarily and I run MAMP on my MacBook at work so I can build the site on my laptop before I push the code up to our development server. (MAMP = Mac Apache MySQL PHP.) Here’s the file address to a given project’s location:

/Applications/MAMP/htdocs/wp_project/

Obviously, this can be a bit inconvenient, so I created an alias in my .bash_profile to take me to the htdocs folder and list its contents.

alias mamp="cd /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/; ls -l;"

After running “source ~/.bash_profile” or opening a new shell, I can just type “mamp” and I am taken to the htdocs folder and its contents are listed for me. Once you get the hang of this, it can really help you more out of the Terminal.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

