About to do something reckless and stupid

2 02 2011

The smart thing and the right thing are sometimes not the same thing. Should you do something simply because you can? I can do my job. It challenges me. I have learned a great deal from my job over the past seven months. Unfortunately, I do not get much satisfaction out of my work.

Stay hungry. Stay foolish.

I graduated from college about nine months ago and this is my first full-time, salaried job. I work as a web developer. I graduated with a degree in Informatics, which is an IT-related major. Before that, I was an Astronomy/Astrophysics major. Before that, a Geology major. Because my academic performance as an Astronomy major was not great, I decided I just wanted to graduate, so I found the easiest degree program I could, one that mildly interested me. I blasted right through, graduated, and got a job I could do but did not really care about.

This lack of interest or enthusiasm is no one’s fault but my own. I can get through each day, pushing sites out the door, but there is no fun in it for me. I like the people I work with. They are smart, nice, and knowledgable.

I did the smart thing. I got a steady job with good coworkers in a familiar city that is somewhat easy for me to execute. The question is did I do the right thing? I am considering doing something drastic and stupid but it might be the right thing for me to do. Let’s see if it acutally happens.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

