This is a UNIX system. I know this!

13 05 2008

Over the last few months, I have been casually toying around with the Terminal utility in Mac OS X, which allows me to control my computer with a command line interface. Once you get the hang of it, it’s pretty fun! Here’s something simple you can try:

  • Open your Applications folder, then open the Utilities folder.
  • Launch Terminal
  • Type the following:
    cd Desktop
    mkdir Craptopia
    cd Craptopia
    cat >Crap
    This is a rather inelegant text file.
    Please forgive how it looks.
    Although, it is pretty kickass that I'm using UNIX!
  • Return one more line after finishing the last sentence and press Ctrl-D.
  • Want to read what you typed? Type:
    cat Crap

Congratulations! You have just created a folder on your desktop and put a small text file inside. Pretty cool, huh?

Warning! Be very sure to be careful while in Terminal, as you can accidentally do some damage while you’re in there, so make sure all your commands are right. If something happens to your computer, I will deny responsibility and quietly walk away and pretend nothing happened.

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 05 2008
linuxowns

I don’t think the “apple crowd” is that kind that will like to use a terminal.

The warning is a but too much.

How much can you really do wrong in a terminal without using “su” of “sudo”?

17 05 2008
patrick42h

Of course, there are Apple people who like to use the Terminal. I’ve met a few of them myself here and there.
I am new to using the Unix command line, so I’m afraid that by enticing people even less familiar with it with it than I am to use it, they will accidentally do something bad. Then, they will blame me. All this has happened before and all this will happen again. So say we all.

Leave a Reply

